Past ICoIAS Keynote Speakers

Prof. Gary G. Yen | Oklahoma State University, USA

IEEE Fellow, and IET Fellow; Founding Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Computational Intelligence Magazine 

Gary G. Yen received the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 1992. He is currently a Regents Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Oklahoma State University. His research interest includes intelligent control, computational intelligence, evolutionary multiobjective optimization, conditional health monitoring, signal processing and their industrial/defense applications.

Prof. Jonathan Garibaldi | University of Nottingham, UK

IEEE Fellow; Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems 

Professor Jon Garibaldi is Head of School of Computer Science at the University of Nottingham, Head of the Intelligent Modelling and Analysis (IMA) Research Group, and Founding Director of the University of Nottingham Advanced Data Analysis Centre. His main research interest is in developing intelligent techniques to model human reasoning in uncertain environments, with a particular emphasis on the medical domain.

Prof. Mohamad SAWAN | Westlake University, China (西湖大学)

IEEE Fellow, FCAE Fellow; Editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems; H-Index: 45 

Mohamad Sawan is Chair Professor in Westlake University, Hangzhou, China, and Emeritus Professor in University of Montreal, Canada. He is founder and director of the Cutting-Edge Net of Biomedical Research And INnovation (CenBRAIN) in Westlake University. He received the Ph.D. degree from University of Sherbrooke, Canada. He is Co-Founder, Associate Editor and was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (2016-2019). He is founder of the International IEEE-NEWCAS Conference and of the Polystim Neurotech Laboratory, and Co-Founder of the International IEEE-BioCAS Conference.  

Prof. Zengguang Hou | Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


IEEE Fellow; 复杂系统管理与控制国家重点实验室副主任 

Zeng-Guang Hou is a Professor and Deputy Director of the State Key Laboratory of Management and Control for Complex Systems, Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).
He is a VP of the Chinese Association of Automation (CAA) and the Asia Pacific Neural Network Society (APNNS), and a member of Board of Governors of International Neural Network Society (INNS). Dr. Hou is an IEEE/CAA Fellow, an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics and the Neural Networks.

Prof. Tianyou Chai (IEEE Fellow) | Northeastern University, China



Tianyou Chai received the Ph.D. degree in control theory and engineering in 1985 from Northeastern University, Shenyang, China, where he became a Professor in 1988. He is the founder and Director of the Center of Automation, which became a National Engineering and Technology Research Center and a State Key Laboratory. He is a member of Chinese Academy of Engineering, IFAC Fellow and IEEE Fellow, director of Department of Information Science of National Natural Science Foundation of China.
His current research interests include modeling, control, optimization and integrated automation of complex industrial processes.

Prof. Feiyue Wang (IEEE Fellow) | Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


Fellow IEEE (2003), INCOSE (2005) , IFAC (2007), AAAS (2007), ASME (2007) 

Fei-Yue Wang received his Ph.D. in Computer and Systems Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York in 1990. He joined the University of Arizona in 1990 and became a Professor and Director of the Robotics and Automation Lab (RAL) and Program in Advanced Research for Complex Systems (PARCS). In 1999, he founded the Intelligent Control and Systems Engineering Center at the Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Beijing, China, under the support of the Outstanding Overseas Chinese Talents Program from the State Planning Council and “100Talent Program” from CAS, and in 2002, was appointed as the Director of the Key Lab of Complex Systems and Intelligence Science, CAS. From 2006 to 2010, he was Vice President for Research, Education, and Academic Exchanges at the Institute of Automation, CAS. In 2011, he became the State Specially Appointed Expert and the Director of the State Key Laboratory for Management and Control of Complex Systems.

Prof. Ljiljana Trajkovic (IEEE Fellow) | Simon Fraser University, Canada

Ljiljana Trajkovic received the Dipl. Ing. degree from University of Pristina, Yugoslavia, in 1974, the M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering and computer engineering from Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, in 1979 and 1981, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from University of California at Los Angeles, in 1986.
She is currently a Professor in the School of Engineering Science at Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada. From 1995 to 1997, she was a National Science Foundation (NSF) Visiting Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Department, University of California, Berkeley. She was a Research Scientist at Bell Communications Research, Morristown, NJ, from 1990 to 1997, and a Member of the Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, from 1988 to 1990. Her research interests include high-performance communication networks, control of communication systems, computer-aided circuit analysis and design, and theory of nonlinear circuits and dynamical systems.

Prof. Haizhou Li (IEEE Fellow) | National University of Singapore, Singapore

Haizhou Li received his Ph.D degree from South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, China in 1990. He is currently Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National University of Singapore. His research interests include speech information processing, natural language processing, and neuromorphic computing.
Professor Li has served as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio, Speech and Language Processing (2015-2018), the President of the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA, 2015-2017), and the President of Asia Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association (APSIPA, 2015-2016). He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the ISCA.